Hundreds Join Hollywood #MeToo March Against Sexual Abuse

Aliens On Mars? UFO HQ 'Found' On Red Planet

Sujoy Ghosh Resigns From IFFI As Jury Head, Decries Lack Of Artistic Freedom

Written by : Info Box Team
  • thumbnail_1510652173_9023919.jpg

Mumbai, November 14: Filmmaker Sujoy Ghosh has resigned as head of the jury of the Indian Panorama of the 48th International Film Festival of India (IFFI) after the final selection saw two films Sexy Durga and Nude excluded. Asked if he has resigned as jury head, Ghosh told: "Yes, but I can't say anything more than that right now."

Sexy Durga, which will release in theatres as S Durga, is a Malayalam film by Sanal Kumar Sasidharan, while Nude is a Marathi movie by National Award winning director Ravi Jadhav.

Don't Go By The Name

The film Nude is a sensitive tale about a nude model who poses for painters. Jadhav told that he was shocked to read a news report about the exclusion of his film Nude, which the jury had recommended as the opening film. Hapless director of his film appealed not to go by the name.

"I was thinking about the unfortunate things happening in our country. This government is ruthlessly capturing all the spaces of artists in an autocratic way. It is supporting extreme groups in destroying artistic freedom and freedom of expression for stupid reasons," he wrote in a Facebook post on Tuesday.

Sasidharan's movie was earlier refused censor exemption to be screened at the Jio MAMI Mumbai Film Festival as the Information and Broadcasting Ministry concluded it may affect the law and order as it hurts the religious sentiments. He is beyond disappointed.

The jury included names like Nishikant Kamat, Nikkhil Advani, Apurva Asrani, Ruchi Narain and Gyan Correa, some of whom have expressed dissent over the ministry's move. The 13-member jury, led by Sujoy Ghosh, had reportedly included both the movies in their recommended list, but they did not find their way in the list passed by the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting.

(Image Courtesy:FB)

Comment Here

All comments (0)